Sunday, October 28, 2012

Day 2 at Sea....

So far so good!  The weather today has been fairly similar to yesterday, we got up and had some breakfast (including fresh squeezed orange juice! Delish!) and then wandered around for a bit.  At 10am in the Sky Lounge was the Cruise Critic Party- there must have been 200 people up there, it was really amazing.  I was very popular, as I was in charge of setting up the cabin crawl at 3pm, so everyone wanted to check in and see what the plan was (meet at 3pm in the Martini Bar) and then we'd start our trek around the ship.
Went back to the room and picked up Chris and then went and checked out the lunch buffet in the Oceanview Cafe.  There is quite an impressive variety of food available and I almost always wander around looking at all the options before choosing something, and so far the food has been excellent.
At about 245PM, I went down to the Martini bar to start coordinating the Cabin Crawl.  For those that are not familiar, the cabin crawl is essentially a tour of different cabin types on different decks.  People volunteer their cabins if they want to have people come by, and I coordinated and selected the cabins from the ones volunteered.  We ended up with 12 cabins, and about 80 people wandering around for about an hour.  It went very well, and it sounded like everyone had a nice time, from the comments I heard.
Then we got prepared for dinner and went down to our favorite bar and hung out with some friends that we've met, Malcolm and Julie (from London) and Luke and Gabby (from Melbourne) and Jenny (from San Franciso)  The funniest conversation of the evening is when Malcolm and Luke were arguing about cricket, and who the best players were, and arguing over a previous match.  I had no idea what they were talking about, so that must be how they feel when we talk about American Football......!  It made me laugh.
Dinner was excellent - we had this beef ragu with gnocchi that was possibly the best appetizer ever.  We even got the waiter to give us the receipe from the kitchen, so I've filed that away for future use. Here's a picture of the dish
And the receipe....


I'm thinking I may have to cut the proportions down a bit.  5 pounds of frozen gnocchi?

We then spent a bit of time in the casino, making the required donation, and then decided to head for bed.  One more day at sea tomorrow, then Alexandria!!!

No comments:

Post a Comment